The 11 times World Surfing Champion Kelly Slater has just claimed his 50th win on the ASP World Tour.  Kelly won his first world title in 1992.  Since then the title has been won by 6 others, Derek Ho, Mark Occhilupo, Sunny Garcia, C.J. Hobgood, the late Andy Irons (3 times winner) and Mick Fanning (2 times winner).  With the amazing performance of the recent Olympians and Paralympians this summer I wonder whether there is a better athlete in the world today, still winning at the age of 40 after 20 years at or near the top?

Recommended Posts

No comment yet, add your voice below!

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *